Monday, 26 September 2016

The Boy Most Likely To - Book Review


Started: Sept 14, 2016 | Finished: Sept 25, 2016

The Boy Most Likely to by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Penguin Group on Sept 6, 2016
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Pages: 448
Book Edition: Paperback
No. of times read: 1
Links: Goodreads

Synopsis:
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.
Rating: 5/5

My thoughts:

I loved this book so much! Getting to revisit characters from My Life Next Door and finding out more from two different characters perspective was awesome. In this one, we follow Alice (Jase's older sister) and Tim (Jase's best friend). I would say that you don't have to read My Life Next Door before reading this as it can be read as a stand-alone and not a sequel, but I would recommend reading it first just so you can familiarize yourself with the characters.

Tim was the alcoholic, druggie bad seed of the family who was starting to turn his life around a little in My Life Next Door, and in this one you see his journey continue as he's moved out of his family home and into the Garrett's apartment above the garage. We also follow Alice's perspective throughout the book. She's Jase's older sister, and in this book we get to see just how much she takes on as being the older, responsible sister who helps take care of the family while going to school and helping out at their family's store, and how it all kind of takes away from her living her own life. You see how she has these walls built up around her, to protect her and it was really great to see her slowly let her guard down and open up more.

There's a big thing that happens in this book, that I won't spoil, but I will say that I loved it and how it helped the characters grow, especially Tim but even Alice as well. Seeing how they handled the situation was really great and realistic. There's a twist in the ending, and while it was sad I think it ended up working out for the best, and so I was happy with it overall.

And of course it was really great to have the whole Garrett family back, as well as Samantha, and I just love this dynamic and these characters so much!! I'm praying that Huntley Fitzpatrick brings out more books with Garrett characters in them. I need to know how they all are in the future, and where they end up!

Really loved this one! I would say this one and My Life Next Door are neck and neck for my favourite Huntley Fitzpatrick book (I did like What I Thought Was True a lot, but it takes the backseat now unfortunately but only by a smidgen, I swear!). Huntley Fitzpatrick is just an amazing writer!! The way she brings characters to life is so phenomenal, and I can't wait to see what she comes out with next! (Please more Garrett's at some point though!!)

Thursday, 15 September 2016

Summer Days and Summer Nights - Book Review


Started: Aug 31, 2016 | Ended: Sept 14, 2016

Summer Days and Summer Nights by Multiple Authors
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 17, 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Pages: 400
Book Edition: Hardcover
No. of times read: 1
Links: Goodreads

Synopsis:
Maybe it's the long, lazy days, or maybe it's the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

Featuring stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.
Rating: 4/5

My thoughts:

After reading My True Love Gave to Me last December, I definitely wanted to read this one during the summer. I'm a little late with this one, reading it as summer has just ended but at least I got to it!

Heads, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo
3/5

When I first started this one, I wasn't sure what to make of it. I think the paranormal for the first story really threw me off. Once it got into the story, I did like it but it took me a while to get my head around at first. It's about a girl who thinks she saw a sea monster in the lake in her town. She and a boy that she knows but hasn't ever really interacted with, spend a few summers investigating if the sea monster exists.

The End of Love by Nina LaCour
3/5

This one was sweet and simple, but I liked it. It's about a girl who's parents are getting divorced and she's taking it hard so she decides to enroll in summer school even though she doesn't need it, but uses it as a way to get out of the house. There she meets up with old friends she hasn't seen in a while, and among them the girl she has a crush on but never got up the courage to let her feelings be known.

Last Stand at the Cinegore by Libba Bray
2/5

This one started off good, but ended up really weird and I'm still debating whether I liked it or not. It's about three friends who work at a horror movie theater that's being shut down, so it's their last night working there. They play what's known as a "cursed" movie while they talk about what they're going to do for the future.

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block
1/5

I didn't like this one at all. All the characters names are just letters which was very confusing for me. The story just seemed like such a downer, and left me feeling very meh about it all. About a girl about to go off to college, her and her three friends go to a local club where they met up with a group of guys. One of the guys from the group takes an interest in the main girl, and it goes from there.

In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins
5/5

This one was by far my favourite!! I loved the Stephanie Perkins story from My True Love Gave to Me, and in this one it's a continuation with the same characters that I loved. You get to see where Marigold and North's relationship went and where they are at now that it's summer. I really loved getting to revisit these characters.


Souvenirs by Tim Federle
3/5

I liked this one despite the main story being about an impending breakup. I really liked the characters in it and their story. It's about two boys who work at an amusement park and date for the summer, but they set up their breakup day from the beginning since one's moving away to college in the fall while the other will be a senior in highschool.

Inertia by Veronica Roth
4/5

I did like this, but I didn't think it really fit into the whole summer vibes that this book should have as it's a Summer themed book. It's about a girl whose former best friend is in an accident and is asked to go to the hospital to undergo a procedure that's called his Last Visitation. It's where they are put under together so that they can relive memories and talk to each other one last time. It also dealt with the main characters battle of depression, which is something I can relate to, just not the extent that it was portrayed in this story.

Love is the Last Resort by Jon Skovron
3/5

I liked this one, but it wasn't my favourite but I still thought it was a cute story. There are a lot of characters in this book, the main ones being two people who work at a resort. But it also follows some of the guests at the resort as well. There's a lot of drama, where two people like each other but the both don't know the person they like likes them. Make sense? Yeah I know, a little confusing. But it's mainly a matchmaker story, and I thought it was cute.

Good Luck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert
2/5

This one was meh for me, which is the best way I can describe it. It was okay, but I didn't really love how the love story progressed in it. It's about a girl who's cousin became like a second mom to her when her mom died, and now the cousin is moving away with her girlfriend. They host a goodbye party for them where she meets her cousin's girlfriend's brother, and it goes from there.

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare
3/5

This one was very weird, but I found it kind of interesting. There was paranormal again, which I wasn't expecting there to be so much paranormal in this book so it's really thrown me off. It's about a father and daughter who run a dark carnival, the dad runs away and the daughter is left tending to the carnival on her own until her uncle and his stepson show up to help out.

A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith
3/5

This one was okay, I didn't hate it but I didn't overly love it either. It's about a girl who is works as a daytime camp counsellor and she finally asks out the boy she likes from her Spanish class. On the day of their date, one of the kids she has to look after, his mom is late to pick him up so they need up staying at the school waiting for with him, and it goes from there. It deals with mental disability in a really nice way which I liked.

The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman
1/5

I'll be honest, I didn't finish this one. I read the first few pages, but it was about the day repeating on a loop for the main character, and I just couldn't get into it.

I will say I was disappointed with this book just because I was expecting a lot of summer contemporary style stories, but there wasn't a whole lot of that in this one. But it was overall okay, not as good as My True Love Gave to Me, but still an okay read.

 photo copyright.jpg
blogger template by envye